EMI looks to censor ‘Camp 83 Mashup’

Recently, I checking up on my poor little YouTube channel with 18 subscribers and there were a number of copyright claims against my videos. Here’s what I’ve written about camp 83 just FYI. Here’s that video again for those who haven’t listened to my wonderful mashup:

I’ve won just about every dispute so far, and here’s what I submitted via the YouTube submission:

Camp 83 MASHUP
Please verify the following information:

Claims to dispute
“Megadeth-Breadline”, sound recording administered by:
EMI

Reason for dispute

This video uses copyrighted material in a manner that does not require approval of the copyright holder. It is a fair use under copyright law.
Explanation
17 U.S.C. § 107, part of the Copyright Act of 1976 states: “Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 17 U.S.C. § 106 and 17 U.S.C. § 106A, the fair use of a copyrighted work, including such use by reproduction in copies or phonorecords or by any other means specified by that section, for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is not an infringement of copyright. In determining whether the use made of a work in any particular case is a fair use” and so on (http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/17/107). The use of the sound recording, Breadline, in the video titled ‘Camp 83 Mashup’ is not for news reporting or scholarship, but is being used for criticism and comment, in order to put the former homeless camp in Baltimore, Camp 83. In a bigger context, it will hopefully teach viewers and listeners at least something about the problems that the homeless Baltimoreans face. The mashup as a whole is meant to portray a message of people suffering in hopes that it will not only promote public awareness, and hopefully encourage people to push for a change in public policy of the Baltimore City government currently led by Stephanie Rawlings-Blake. This is why I am disputing this claim, as taking down this video, or even removing this bit of audio content would remove the rhythm of the mashup that I created, making it less palatable to the listener as well. I hope you make the right decision and rescind your claim. Thanks.
I have a good faith belief that the claim(s) described above have been made in error, and that I have the right(s) necessary to use the contents of my video for the reasons I have stated. I have not knowingly made any false statements, nor am I intentionally abusing this dispute process in order to interfere with the rights of others. I understand that filing fraudulent disputes may result in termination of my YouTube account.
Signature

Burkely Hermann

Now, this is the first claim I’ve had against this video.

camp 83

I’m already fighting two different copyright claims as well:

globalization remix obama tax cuts

Also for future reference, here are the repositories of BMI and ASCAP to check if people are scamming you. I now learned that UMG wants people to send approval notes to them before a song is published, but this utterly absurd.

Anyway, here’s what BMI says about the song ‘Breadline’:

breadline

You may be wondering what you can do. After all, EMI as an entity doesn’t exist anymore, but looking at the specifics on BMI I have some ideas since my dispute is “awaiting response by 01/02/14” by EMI:

  1. Email COPYRIGHTADMIN@EMIMUSICPUB.COM* to tell them to withdraw the copyright claim on my video, ‘Camp 83 Mashup‘.**
  2. Tweet @megadeath, @EMI_Records_JP, @emimusic, and @UMG to tell them to withdraw the copyright claim from ‘Camp 83 Mashup.’
  3. Watch the video as many times as you want, share it and spread it around. That’s what I tried to do originally, but failed miserably.

*if this email doesn’t work, or you want to be really bold, email info@umea.co.jp [Universal Music Japan] about this as well.

**Just FYI, the song Breadline is ‘BMI Work #4830945’ just to be specific if you want to add that. Here’s the Wikipedia background of the song which was released a single, and released as part of an album that had Japanese Record Label Avex Trax (part of Avex Group) as the label it was published with

There has to be more, but that’s all I can think of for now aside from direct action and the like. Wish me luck!

About bhermannview

I'm a person interested in politics in general. I want to make a change and have a more just world for all.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

